What the big lenders ask for, checked 1 October 2026
These are the payslip rules nine big lenders publish for brokers. Click a lender’s name to see its own page.
| Lender | Fixed monthly pay | Paid weekly | Overtime, bonus or commission | New job |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Halifax | Latest payslip | Latest 4 | 3 months (12 weekly) | Contract accepted as evidence |
| Nationwide | Latest payslip | Not stated | 3 monthly or 8 weekly | Contract or appointment letter |
| Barclays | Latest payslip | Latest 5 | 3 months (5 weekly), plus P60 | 3 months with no gaps, less looked at case by case |
| NatWest | Latest payslip (up to 3 if asked) | Not stated | 3 months (13 weekly) | 6 months’ continuous work; contract or letter if starting within 3 months |
| Santander | Latest payslip | Last 4 weeks | 3 months (weekly: 4 weeks plus 1 from each of the 2 months before) | Not stated |
| HSBC | Latest payslip | Latest 4 | Latest 3 (6 if weekly) | Contract or appointment letter |
| Coventry | Latest payslip and P60 (3 months without a P60) | Latest 4 weeks (12 without a P60) | Counts 50%; 2 years for an annual bonus | 12 months in permanent work |
| Skipton | Latest payslip | Not stated | Two P60s | 6 months’ continuous work |
| Accord | Latest payslip up to 75% LTV, 3 above | Not stated | Counts 60% | No minimum; contract if starting within 3 months |
Taken from each lender’s own criteria on 1 October 2026. Criteria change often, and some lenders check income electronically and may ask for fewer documents. This is general information, not a recommendation of any lender. Which lender suits you depends on your income and circumstances.














